





## **CALL FOR PAPERS**

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: 18 May 2025

Deutsche Bundesbank – IWH – CEPR conference on

## The Future of Banking: Risk Management, Governance, and Innovation in a Regulated World

to be held at the Deutsche Bundesbank Conference Centre

in Eltville am Rhein (near Frankfurt am Main), Germany,

on 15-16 September 2025

The rapid evolution of the banking sector, driven by technological advancements, geopolitical tensions, and emerging risks, is reshaping the landscape for financial intermediaries. This conference will address critical issues in risk management, governance, and innovation, focusing on the implications for financial regulation and supervision in this dynamic environment. These issues will be discussed from a scientific perspective.

The organising committee invites submissions of high-quality theoretical and empirical research papers on all areas of financial intermediation, risk management, regulation and supervision, including (but not limited to)

- Innovations in risk management practices and technologies
- Risk identification, assessment and mitigation in the financial industry
- Stress testing and scenario analysis in risk management
- Cybersecurity threats and vulnerabilities in financial intermediaries
- Regulatory and supervisory cybersecurity frameworks
- Corporate governance of banks and its impact on bank behaviour, performance and stability
- Board oversight and executive management of banks

- Regulatory and supervisory tools for enhancing bank governance standards
- Assessing and managing geopolitical risks with relevance to the banking sector
- Banks' challenges and opportunities in the era of digitisation and artificial intelligence (AI)
- Regulatory and supervisory approaches to emerging technologies such as AI, blockchains, and cryptocurrencies
- Determinants and effects of interplay between non-bank financial institutions and banks
- Interlinkages between the real economy and financial intermediaries

The conference will feature plenary sessions with keynote addresses by Christine Parlour, Haas School of Business, Berkeley, and Elena Carletti, Bocconi University and CEPR, and speeches by Fritzi Köhler-Geib and Michael Theurer (Members of the Board of Deutsche Bundesbank).

Please submit your paper until 18 May 2025 via <u>ConfTool</u>. The conference will be held physically at the Deutsche Bundesbank Conference Centre in Eltville am Rhein, Germany. Eltville is located close to Frankfurt and can be reached within 30 minutes from Frankfurt International airport.

The conference is organised jointly by the Deutsche Bundesbank, the IWH, and the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR). Economy class travel expenses (subject to price limits) and accommodation will be covered for invited academic speakers and discussants.

## ORGANISING COMMITTEE:

Falko Fecht (Deutsche Bundesbank) Melina Ludolph (IWH)

Daniel Foos (Deutsche Bundesbank)

Natalya Martynova (Deutsche Bundesbank)

Martin Götz (Deutsche Bundesbank)

Huyen Nguyen (IWH)

Björn Imbierowicz (Deutsche Bundesbank)

Alexander Schulz (Deutsche Bundesbank)

Michael Koetter (IWH)

## SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE:

Jean Edouard Colliard (HEC Paris and CEPR)

Ricardo Correa (Federal Reserve Board of Governors)

Matteo Crosignani (Federal Reserve Bank of New York and CEPR)

Claudia Custodio (Imperial College London and CEPR)
Thomas Eisenbach (Federal Reserve Bank of New York)

Tim Eisert (Nova School of Business and Economics and CEPR)
Galina Hale (University of California, Santa Cruz and CEPR)

Marie Hoerova (European Central Bank and CEPR)
Emilia Garcia Appendini (Norges Bank; University of St. Gallen)
Stephen Karolyi (Office of the Comptroller of the Currency)

Shohini Kundu (University of California, Los Angeles and CEPR)

Agnese Leonello (European Central Bank and CEPR)
Gyöngyi Lóránth (University of Vienna and CEPR)

David Martinez-Miera (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid and CEPR)

Camelia Minoiu (Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta)

Lars Norden (Brazilian School of Public and Business Administration)

Felix Noth (IWH; Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg)

Enrico Perotti (University of Amsterdam and CEPR)
Diane Pierret (University of Luxembourg and CEPR)

Andrea Polo (LUISS University and CEPR)

Kasper Roszbach (Norges Bank; University of Groningen)

Larissa Schäfer (Frankfurt School of Finance & Management and CEPR)

Daniel Streitz (IWH; Friedrich Schiller University Jena)

Javier Suarez (Center for Monetary and Financial Studies and CEPR)

Yannick Timmer (Federal Reserve Board of Governors)

Neeltje van Horen (Bank of England and CEPR)
Jing Zeng (University of Bonn and CEPR)